Telangana:D Srinivas, Lakshmikanta Rao elected unopposed to RS

first_imgHyderabad, June 3 (PTI) Senior TRS leaders D Srinivas and Captain V Lakshmikanta Rao were today elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Telangana. No other nomination had been filed. The biennial election was to fill two vacancies. The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) enjoys a strength in Legislative Assembly. In the 120-member Telangana Legislative Assembly, TRS has 82 members. Srinivas, a former state Congress president who was a senior minister in the government of undivided Andhra Pradesh, joined TRS last July. At present, he is an adviser to the Telangana government on the inter-state issues. Srinivas was considered close to the Congress high command but switched over to TRS after he lost successive elections. Rao, who has served in the defence forces, is a senior leader of TRS. PTI SJR KRK UZMlast_img